Tuesday, May 30, 2023
Home Slider Patna clinch BCA Super League title

Patna clinch BCA Super League title

Patna: Patna chalked out a comprehensive 103-run victory over Rest of Shahabad Zone to capture the BCA Senior Men’s Inter-District Cricket Tournament (BCA Super League) title at the Moinul Haq Stadium here on Sunday.

Patna won this title after a gap of six years. Earlier, Patna won the title in 2016-17 season defeating Siwan in the final at Begusarai. Altogether Patna bagged this coveted title for the 14th time.

Patna scored 287 runs in its first innings losing all wickets in 94.3 overs and 244 runs in second innings losing all wickets in 70.4 overs. Rest of Shahabad Zone scored 199 runs in their first innings losing all wickets in 69.1 overs and scored 229 runs in second innings losing all wickets in 72.4 overs.

Rest of Shahabad Zone began their second innings on the fourth and final day of the match on 88 for 4 while chasing 333 runs to win. It was a tough task to chase more than 300 runs on the Moinul Haq Stadium track on the fourth and final day. Rest of Shahabad Zone batsmen fought hard to get the magic figure but they could not succeed in their mission.  Shahabad innings folded at 229 off 72.4 overs.

For Shahabad Zone, Karan Raj top scored with 67 runs. Other contributors were Nikhil (13), Varun Raj (36), Ankit Raj (40), Harsh Raj Puru (14), Rahul Kumar (10) and  Paramjit (24). For Patna, Abhinav claimed three wickets for 55 runs, Rahul Kumar also grabbed three wickets for 37 runs, Shashim Rathore took one wicket for 36 and Suraj Kashyap earned two wickets for 45 runs.

Runners up Rest of Shahabad Zone team members

With a century in the second innings and a half century in the first innings, Patna batsman Shlok Kumar was declared man of the match.

Patna’s feat as champions in inter-district senior men’s tournament

1957-58, 1959-60, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79, 1983-84, 1994-95, 1998-99, 1999-00, 2002-03, 2004-05, 2016- 17, 2022-23

Vice president of Bihar Cricket Association Dilip Singh and representative of district associations Om Prakash Jaiswal gave away the trophies to the winners and runners-up. Players of both the teams were given BCA medals. Vice president of Kishanganj District Cricket Association Tariq Ekbal, BCA CEO Manish Raj, GM cricket Sunil Singh, tournament committee member Mukesh Kumar Singh were present on the occasion.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments