Shopping cart

Magazines cover a wide array subjects, including but not limited to fashion, lifestyle, health, politics, business, Entertainment, sports, science,

  • Home
  • Sports
  • Shashim, Piyush excel in Patna’s resounding win

Shashim, Piyush excel in Patna’s resounding win

Patna senior men's cricket team
Email :34

Patna, April 27, 2024: Patna secured a commanding victory over Jehanabad in the BCA Senior Men’s Cricket Tournament, thanks to the outstanding all-round performance by Shashim Rathore (56 runs, 3 wickets) and a century by Piyush Kumar Singh (112 runs). The win not only marked a significant margin of 127 runs but also crowned Patna as the group champions of Zone A.

In the match held at the local Moinul Haq Stadium, Jehanabad won the toss and elected to field first. Patna, batting first, posted a formidable total of 297 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 45 overs. Piyush Kumar Singh led the charge with a splendid century, scoring 112 runs off 113 balls, supported by Shashim Rathore’s brisk 56 runs off 47 balls and Akash Raj’s valuable 42 runs off 35 balls. Animesh Kumar contributed 13 runs, Babul Kumar scored 21 runs, while Vivek Kumar remained unbeaten with 14 runs.

Jehanabad’s bowling attack saw Shashi Shekhar claiming 3 wickets for 54 runs, while Shiv Raj, Gautam Bhagwat, and Raju Yadav secured 2 wickets each.

In response, Jehanabad faltered, managing only 170 runs before being bowled out in 37.2 overs. Santosh Kumar showcased resistance with a gritty 64 runs off 61 balls, supported by Himanshu Sharma’s 34 runs. However, it wasn’t enough to match Patna’s total. For Patna, Shashim Rathore and Apoorva Anand shone with the ball, claiming 3 wickets each, while Suraj Kumar Kashyap took 2 wickets.

Brief score:

Patna: 297 runs for 9 wickets in 45 overs. Animesh Kumar 13, Shashim Rathore 56, Piyush Kumar Singh 112, Babul Kumar 21, Akash Raj 42, Vivek Kumar 14*, extras 16. Bowling: Shashi Shekhar 3/54, Shiv Raj 2/43, Gautam Bhagwat 2/43, Raju Yadav 2/47.

Jehanabad: 170 runs in 37.2 overs. Santosh Kumar 64, Kumar Shrey 21, Deepu Sharma 12, Suraj Rathore 10, Himanshu Sharma 34. Bowling: Vivek Kumar 1/13, Shashim Rathore 3/33, Suraj Kumar Kashyap 2/27, Rahul Rathore 1/12, Apoorva Anand 3/38.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts