Saturday, April 20, 2024
Home News Senior Congress Leader Meira Kumar Refuses to Contest Lok Sabha Elections

Senior Congress Leader Meira Kumar Refuses to Contest Lok Sabha Elections

RJD is taking advantage of the lack of announcements on seat sharing.

RJD supremo Lalu Yadav announces names of candidates on many seats

By Vishwapati

Patna: Seat sharing has not happened yet in the INDIA alliance in Bihar. Taking advantage of this, RJD has announced the names of its candidates for many Lok Sabha seats.

On the other hand, former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar also announced on Saturday that she would not contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. “I will continue to work for social justice, inclusive growth and the empowerment of women,” she said in a post on X. We anticipated that Congress leader Meira Kumar would participate in the Lok Sabha elections this time. But now she has decided not to contest the elections.

Regarding 78-year-old Meira Kumar, it is believed that she has distanced herself from the elections due to her old age. However, rumours also suggest that Meira Kumar has announced her decision not to contest the elections due to the lack of consensus regarding Congress’s Sasaram seat.

On the other hand, the Left Party has closed the chapter of Congressman Kanhaiya Kumar by giving tickets to Awadhesh Rai from Begusarai. Congress failed to get the Begusarai seat for JNU student leader Kanhaiya Kumar, who came in second in the 2019 elections. He participated enthusiastically in Rahul Gandhi’s Jodo Yatra.

Despite this, Kanhaiya Kumar, the NSUI in-charge, no longer has the option to contest elections from Begusarai. RJD is continuously announcing the names of its candidates, and Congress is helpless.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Kanhaiya Kumar was made the candidate against BJP veteran Giriraj Singh for the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat. Tanveer Hasan contested the election for the RJD. Tanveer Hasan stood third with 1 lakh, 98 thousand votes.

Now CPI’s Awadhesh Rai has the ticket from Begusarai seat. CPI general secretary D Raja announced his candidature after meeting RJD chief Lalu Prasad.

Despite dissatisfaction in Congress over RJD ticket distribution, there is silence in Congress. Congress State President Dr Akhilesh Prasad Singh has no information about the distribution of tickets by the constituent parties. In Aurangabad, the announcement of the candidate’s name by RJD has further complicated the situation for Congress. The Katihar seat is also going out of the hands of Congress. Tariq Anwar had also opposed RJD’s move.

Despite this, Lalu Prasad’s party, RJD, is announcing candidates even before seat shearing.

However, even before the announcement of seat sharing, RJD has increased the worries of Congress by announcing the names of its candidates for many Lok Sabha seats.

The writer is senior journalist based in Patna 




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments