Saturday, April 20, 2024
Home Slider Yashaswini guides Jain University into the quarters

Yashaswini guides Jain University into the quarters

Guwahati: Shepherded by Yashaswini Ghorpade, Jain University from Bengaluru topped Group A to enter the quarterfinals of the 4th Khelo India University Games (KIUG) at the Nehru Stadium complex today. Thus, the varsity girls kept a clean slate, winning all their group matches.

The other teams that have made it to the knockout stages included Chitkara (Group A), Chandigarh and L.N. Mithila (Group B), SRM and Delhi (Group C) and SNDT and Osmania (Group D).

Yashaswini showed how to guide and propel the team in the fight for the group’s top place when she beat Suhana Saini of Chitraka 3-2, paving the way ahead in a crunch second-round match with title favourites. The others rallied around her, especially Anargaya Manjunath, who won the crucial fifth rubber against Lakshita Narang to push Chitkara to the second spot in the group. Suhana won her first singles but failed in the second, despite Anjali Rohila winning the third rubber without problems.

However, in the third round, the Jain varsity’s struggle was palpable after Karruna Gajendran lost the third rubber against the University of Calcutta. Yet, Anargaya came to her old self in the crucial fifth rubber against Mahek Das to extricate their team from the depth. Yashaswini played her role to perfection and won both singles, and the group’s top slot hinged on how Anargaya played. Unlike in her previous matches, the senior pro was calm and composed despite overcoming her rival in the first extended game, which she won on her third game point.

Among the boys, Chitkara University, Chandigarh University, the University of North Bengal and the University of Madras ensured their passage into the quarterfinals after the second-round ties in their respective groups. At the end of the third round tomorrow, a clear position will emerge about who will join the group leaders in the knockout stages.

But Chitkara University’s 3-0 triumph in their second round against VNS Gujarat University was not convincing enough as the boys from the Punjab boys lacked a positive approach. Of the possible 15 games in the three rubbers, they had to play 14 to earn a tough win, and credit must go to the Gujarat varsity boys, who showed seriousness in their approach. Wesley Do Rosario and Raegan Albuquerque failed to show urgency as Murad Ayaz, Burhanuddin Malubaliwala, and Pratham Madlani showed maturity against the higher-ranked players. Yashansh Malik avoided the embarrassment, winning the second rubber 3-1.


Girls(Rounds 2 & 3):

Group A: Jain University bt Chitkara University 3-2, University of Calcutta bt MKB University 3-1; Jain University bt University of Calicut 3-2, Chitkara University bt MKB University 3-0.

Group B: Chandigarh University bt University of Madras 3-0, LN Mithila Unversity bt University of Rajasthan 3-0; Chandigarh University bt University of Rajasthan 3-0, LN Mithila University bt University of Madras 3-0.

Group C: University of Mumbai bt Jadavpur University 3-0, SRM University bt University of Delhi 3-1; SRM University bt Jadavpur University 3-0, University of Delhi bt University of Mumbai 3-1.

Group D: Osmania University bt Adamas University 3-1, SNDT University bt Panjab University 3-0; Adamas University bt Panjab University 3-0, SNDT University bt Osmania University 3-0.

Boys(Round 2):

Group A: Gitam University bt Jadavpur University 3-2, Chitkara University bt VNS Gujarat University 3-0.

Group B: Chandigarh University bt Adamas University 3-0, MKB University bt Vels University 3-0.

Group C: University of Mumbai bt Punjabi University 3-0, University of North Bengal bt SRM University 3-1.

Group D: University of Madras bt University of Calcutta 3-0, University of Delhi bt RTM University 3-2.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments