Shopping cart

Magazines cover a wide array subjects, including but not limited to fashion, lifestyle, health, politics, business, Entertainment, sports, science,

  • Home
  • Sports
  • Patna Eklavya win Shaheed Ajay Kumar Singh Girls Hockey Title

Patna Eklavya win Shaheed Ajay Kumar Singh Girls Hockey Title

Email :1868

Patna: Patna Eklavya beat RK Roy Hockey Academy in penalty shootouts to win the first Shaheed Ajay Kumar Singh Memorial Girls’ Hockey Championship title at Patliputra Sports Complex here on Sunday.

Both teams were tied at 2-2 at the end of regulation time. Sapna Singh scored both goals for RK Roy Hockey Academy, while  Khushi Kumari and Rimjhim Kumari scored goals for Patna Eklavya.

The tournament was organised at the joint aegis of the Sports Development Authority of Bihar and the RK Roy Foundation.

Earlier, in the first semi-final match, RK Roy Hockey Academy beat Eklavya Patna B 5-2. Sapna Singh and Anjali Kumari scored goals for the winning team, while Anu Kumari scored two goals for Eklavya Patna ‘B’.

In the thrilling second semi-final match, Eklavya Patna defeated Eklavya Purnia by 5-2 goals to make it to the finals. Shanti Kumari and Khushi Kumari scored goals for the winning team, while Kajal Kashyap and Kajal Lakda scored for Purnia Eklavya.

Before the prize distribution ceremony, Raveendran Sankaran (IPS) of the Sports Development Authority of Bihar (SDAB) and his wife R Malar Vizhi (IPS) celebrated their anniversary by cutting a cake on the field with the players.

The chief guests of this tournament, Shaheed Ajay Kumar Singh’s parents and his sister distributed prizes among the winners and runner-up teams.

Awards: Best goalkeeper: Anshu Kumari (Patna Eklavya); Best Defender: Sapna Singh (RK Roy Hockey Academy); Best Midfielder: Bijli Kumari (Purnia Eklavya); Best Forward – Khushi Kumari (Patna Eklavya). DG Raveendran Sankaran and R Malar Vizhi (IPS) presented these awards jointly.

Shivani Kumari was given a bicycle in memory of late singer Ajit Kumar Akela by his wife Bina Sharma. The guests were welcomed by Yogesh Kumar, while the vote of thanks was proposed by Arunima Rai.

Earlier, an exhibition match of veteran players was also played before the final match. Former Bihar hockey players Yogesh Kumar, Naresh Chauhan, Sanjay Kumar, Sanjay Tiwari, Anubha Singh, Madhuri Jyoti, Smita Ranjan, Mini Kumari, Deepak Kumar, Sunil Kumar, Vikas Kumar, Peter Pol Lakda, Shashi Raman, Ajay Kumar, Anand Prakash Ranjan, Suraj Kumar, Shashi Rana participated. On this occasion, Naresh Bhatt and Veena Sharma were given mementos for their contributions to sports.

More reports

The match was coordinated by Peter Lakra, Prati Kumari, Shashi Raman, Shashi Rana, Suraj Kumar, Anand Ranjan, Vikas and Soni Anand.

Ajitesh Rai, the foundation’s patron and an international hockey player, stated that this tournament will be an all-India event the following year.

Former player Parasnath, social worker Pradeep Kumar, Bihar Human Rights Commission’s Raj Prakash Gupta and Dixit were present on the occasion.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts