Wednesday, April 17, 2024
Home Slider India win four medals including one gold on opening day of Asian...

India win four medals including one gold on opening day of Asian Track Cycling

New Delhi: The 43rd Senior, 30th Junior Asian Track & 12th Para Track Cycling Championships kicked off today at the iconic Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium, New Delhi, igniting a blaze of athleticism and unwavering determination. This prestigious competition, which the Cycling Federation of India is hosting, has drawn competitors from 18 Asian countries who are all fiercely vying for glory and a coveted spot at the upcoming Paris Olympics. As the last continental championships before the Olympics, the atmosphere is electrifying, and Team India is ready to seize every opportunity thanks to the benefit of competing on home soil.

India’s triumph on the opening day reverberated through the arena as the nation clinched 4 medals, including 1 Gold, 2 Silver, and 1 Bronze, showcasing the prowess and resilience of its cycling contingent.

In a stunning display of skill and teamwork, the Indian Women Junior Team, comprised of Sarita Kumari, Niya Sebastian, Sabina Kumari and Zaina Mohammed Ali Pirkhan, soared to victory, outclassing the Korean team and securing the Gold medal in the Team Sprint event. Clocking an impressive 53.383s, the Indian team demonstrated their ability to compete at the highest level and asserted their dominance on the track.

Reflecting on their historic win, Sarita and Niya expressed their elation, emphasizing the significance of the platform and the hard work behind their achievement. Their victory serves as a testament to India’s potential when provided with world-class facilities and opportunities. They said that it is like a dream for us to beat the strongest team of Asia. We did it with our team work & with the help of Coach & Support staff.

In the Men Junior Team Sprint event, the Indian trio of Narayan Mahto, Syed Khalid Baghi, and Mayanglambam Wattaba Meitei showcased exceptional skill and determination, securing the Silver medal for India despite facing tough competition from the Korean team. Clocking 47.936s, the Indian contingent demonstrated their resilience and determination to excel on the global stage.

The para-cycling team further bolstered India’s medal tally, delivering a remarkable performance in the Para Team Sprint event. Comprising Arshad Shaikh, Jalaluddin Ansari, and Basavaraj Horaddi, the team clinched a well-deserved Silver medal, clocking an impressive 1:02.661s. Their inspiring display of athleticism and determination underscored India’s formidable presence in para-cycling and set the stage for further triumphs in the days to come.

The momentum continued as India’s Women Junior Team, represented by Harshita Jakhar, Suhani Kumari, Dhanyadha JP, and Bhumika, secured a hard-fought Bronze medal in the fiercely contested Team Pursuit event. Their victory, achieved through sheer perseverance and skill, added another jewel to India’s burgeoning medal tally and underscored the nation’s growing prominence in track cycling.

India continues to strive for excellence as the competition takes place, supported unwaveringly by the entire country. With each pedal stroke, the Indian cyclists are poised to etch their names in the annals of sporting history, embodying the spirit of resilience, determination, and sporting prowess.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments