Tuesday, February 27, 2024
Home Sports FIH and BBC sign partnership for FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers

FIH and BBC sign partnership for FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers

Lausanne, SwitzerlandThe International Hockey Federation (FIH) is glad to announce that it has signed a media rights agreement with free-to-air broadcaster BBC for the upcoming FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers.

With this agreement, the BBC will broadcast all matches of the British team, women and men.

 The women – who won the Bronze medal at the last Olympics in Tokyo – will play in Valencia, Spain (13-21 January 2024), whilst the men will compete in Muscat, Oman (15-21 January 2024).

 England and GB Hockey CEO, Nick Pink, said: “We’re thrilled that the BBC has announced that the GB men’s and women’s matches will be shown live on their digital platforms. We all know the Olympic Qualifiers is a vital competition for the teams and for our community to be able to show their support and watch every moment of their journey is fantastic. I would like to encourage everyone to get the matches on and cheer on our teams every step of the way.”

 Commenting on the agreement, FIH President Tayyab Ikram said: “Signing an agreement with such a respected, global and historical broadcaster as the BBC is a demonstration of how these FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers are a fantastic opportunity to showcase our sport. I’d like to express our sincerest gratitude to the BBC for their commitment, and I’m sure that fans are really excited to follow their favourite players’ performances on the BBC during these massively important matches!”

The FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers – through which 12 teams will qualify for the Olympic Games Paris 2024 – take place as follows:


Valencia, Spain (13-21 January)

Pool A: Belgium, Korea, Ireland, Ukraine

Pool B: Great Britain, Spain, Canada, Malaysia

Ranchi, India (13-19 January)

Pool A: Germany, Japan, Chile, Czech Republic

Pool B: India, New Zealand, United States, Italy


Valencia, Spain (13-21 January)

Pool A: Belgium, Ireland, Japan, Ukraine

Pool B: Spain, Korea, Austria, Egypt

Muscat, Oman (15-21 January)

Pool A: Great Britain, Malaysia, Pakistan, China

Pool B: Germany, New Zealand, Canada, Chile






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments