Shopping cart

Magazines cover a wide array subjects, including but not limited to fashion, lifestyle, health, politics, business, Entertainment, sports, science,

  • Home
  • Slider
  • Phase 1 of National Women’s Hockey League 2024–2025 set to commence in Ranchi

Phase 1 of National Women’s Hockey League 2024–2025 set to commence in Ranchi

Hockey Madhya Pradesh team
Email :147

A total of 8 teams will participate in the competition which will begin from Tuesday

Ranchi, April 29, 2024: The National Women’s Hockey League 2024 – 2025 is set to make its grand debut on 30th April 2024, promising an electrifying display of talent and teamwork as India’s top state teams converge in Ranchi, Jharkhand for the maiden edition. The league will unfold in two phases, commencing with its inaugural leg scheduled from 30th April to 9th May 2024, in Ranchi, Jharkhand. All matches during the first leg of the tournament will be hosted at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Astroturf Hockey Stadium.

Intending to provide a ground-breaking platform for emerging athletes and elevate the stature of women’s hockey in the nation, the National Women’s Hockey League 2024 – 2025 brings together the top eight teams from the 14th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2024. Participating teams include Hockey Haryana, Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Jharkhand, Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Hockey Bengal, Hockey Mizoram, Manipur Hockey, and Hockey Association of Odisha.

The elite domestic competition will feature a single pool comprising all eight teams, adopting a captivating round-robin format where each team faces off against the others. Victories will earn teams three points, while draws will secure one point, with no points awarded for a loss. Moreover, in the event of a draw, a penalty shootout will ensue, with the victorious team earning an additional bonus point.

Hockey Jharkhand team
Hockey Jharkhand team

In the first phase of the tournament, a total of 28 league matches will be played, promising an action-packed spectacle for hockey enthusiasts and fans across the country.

“The National Women’s Hockey League represents a monumental step forward for women’s hockey in India,” remarked Hockey India President Dr. Dilip Tirkey. “We are thrilled to witness the culmination of hard work, dedication, and talent in this inaugural edition. This league is not just about competition; it’s about fostering a culture of inclusivity and empowerment in the realm of Indian sports.”

Echoing these sentiments, Hockey India Secretary General Shri Bhola Nath Singh stated, “The National Women’s Hockey League is a testament to the immense potential and prowess of our women athletes. Through this league, we aim to spotlight their skills and dedication while inspiring generations of young girls to pursue their passion for hockey.”

The opening day of the tournament features four exciting matchups. Kicking things off, Hockey Haryana will clash with Hockey Association of Odisha. Next up, Hockey Maharashtra takes on Manipur Hockey, followed by Hockey Madhya Pradesh facing off against Hockey Bengal. Finally, Hockey Jharkhand squares off against Hockey Mizoram.

All the matches of the National Women’s Hockey League 2024 – 2025 will be streamed live on FanCode.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts