Sunday, March 26, 2023
Home Slider GAC XI lift Randhir Verma U-17 Cricket Trophy

GAC XI lift Randhir Verma U-17 Cricket Trophy

Patna: GAC XI beat Happy High School by 3 wickets to win the Randhir Varma Under-17 Cricket Championship title at Sanjay Gandhi Stadium here on Friday.

Kartik of GAC XI who took five wickets for 24 runs was adjudged man of the match.

BJP leader Samrat  Chaudhary was the chief guest at the closing  function. Speaking on the occasion, he said that playground itself has been called the first school of discipline. Highlighting the life of Randhir Verma, he said that he was a skilled officer as well as a great cricketer. This tournament is being organized in his memory since 1997, which is commendable, he added.

Batting first after winning the toss, Happy High School scored only 88 runs in 22.2 overs. Anjan scored 25 (4×2, 6×2) and Antriksh scored 16 (4×2) for Happy High School. Kartik 24/5, Amit 14/3, Rishabh 11/1 and Nanda 19/1 were the wicket takers for GAC.

In reply, GAC scored 92 runs, losing 7 wickets in 13.5 overs. Nandan scored 51 runs (4×8, 6×1)for GAC.  Anjan took two wickets for 25 runs, Deepak took two wickets for 19 runs and Shivam bagged two wickets for 19 runs for Happy High School.

In the prize distribution ceremony, leader of opposition in Bihar Legislative Council Samrat Chaudhary, state vice president of BJP Siddharth Shambhu, ward councilors Shashi Bhushan Yadav, Sujay Sourabh, Prince Raju and youth social worker Anuj Kumar gave away the prizes.

The programme was presided over by Randhir Verma Foundation President Devendra Lal, Anand Sinha anchored the event, Santosh Tiwari welcomed the guests and Satish Raju proposed a vote of thanks.

Umpires Ashutosh Kumar, Rajesh Ranjan, Baijnath Prasad,  scorers Raja Kumar, Shubham Kumar, commentator Mritunjay Jha, Mukesh Paswan of BJP Sports Cell, Rajeev Ranjan Yadav, Anand Sinha, programme convenor Vikas Kumar Singh, Anand Mishra, Shailendra Narayan Sonu, Sumit Jha, Sumit Sharma, Kanchan, Dr. Ravi Shankar and  Kishore Kumar were present on the occasion.

Other awards: Best Batsman – Kovid Sharma (Begusarai); Best Bowler – Kartik Pandey (GAC ); Best Fielder – Md Yakub (GAC); Best wicketkeeper – Ajit Kumar (Basawan Park Cricket Academy); Emerging Player – Karan Kumar (Learning School of Cricket)

Brief scores:

Happy High School – 88 / 10 in 22.2 overs (Anjan-25 (4×2, 6×2), Antriksh-16 (4×2), extra-23 Kartik – 24/5, Amit 14/3, Rishabh 11/1, Nandan 19/1)

GAC: 92/7 in 13.5 overs( Nandan 51 (4×8, 6×1) extra 13 runs and Anjan 25/2, Deepak 19/2, Shivam 11/2, Sumit 19/1 wickets)

Read more

GAC XI enter Randhir Verma U-17 Cricket final



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments