Friday, December 1, 2023
Home Sports 5th Balkeshwar Prasad Memorial Chess Tournament begins

5th Balkeshwar Prasad Memorial Chess Tournament begins

Patna: The 5th Balkeshwar Prasad Memorial Chess Tournament began at Block Cum Zonal Office Patna Sadar, Kumhrar Patna, on Saturday under the aegis of MVP Chess Club, Patna, recognized by the All Bihar Chess Association.

The tournament was formally inaugurated by Senior Treasury Officer, Patna Treasury, Arun Kumar, by lighting the lamp and playing chess. Chief guest Arun Kumar, while addressing the players, said that players playing chess are mentally healthy as well as efficient in all tasks. There is a need to encourage chess from school to college. The chess game can play an important role in the all-round development of children, he said.

The function was presided over by Dr. Arvind Kumar, President of MVP Chess Club. The special guest was Rajendra Kumar, Senior Vice President of All Bihar Chess Association, while the guests of honour were Shailesh Kumar, Assistant Treasury Officer, and Reema Raj, Assistant Treasury Officer.
Chandra Mohan Sinha, Savitri Sinha, Mitali Mitra, Minky Sinha, and Pammi Rani were present on the occasion. The guests were welcomed by Ved Prakash, Secretary of MVP Chess Club, and Shubham Pandey proposed a vote of thanks.

In the important men’s category match played today, international Raish Ram defeated Navneet, Prakash Bhardwaj defeated Nikesh Kumar, Nilay Dayal defeated Adarsh Dhanuka, Akarsh Anand defeated Roshan Kumar, Surya Prakash defeated Divyansh Vaibhav, and Advik defeated Rachit.

In the women’s category, top seed Minky Sinha defeated Kiran Kumari, Pammi Rani defeated Nippu Kumari, Manisha Trivedi defeated Nirmal Kumari, Priya Rani defeated Nisha Kumari, and Nutan Aditya defeated Aashtha Rathod. Hundreds of players from different districts are participating in the tournament.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments